Ode to Summer

August 23, 2010 § Leave a comment

It is now my last night at home before I head back to school in the morning.  And even though school does not start until the first of September, I will be busy every waking moment until then, and therefore this is my last night of summer.  This makes my face frown….

Goodbye Summer.  I will miss you dearly.  You have been such a great friend to me these past few months, but unfortunately the time has come to part ways.  No, Summer.  Please don’t cry.  You’re just going away for a little bit is all.

We both knew this day was coming, although we tried to pretend that it would never get here, and we drained every last bit from each other, but sadly, it is over.  You will be going away, but just for nine months.  That’s right, you’ll see me again soon.  And where you are going, it will be warm, while I will be freezing and missing you, counting the days until I see you once more.

But when I feel like I cannot bear it anymore, I will think of the times we’ve shared these past few months.  The long nights you gave me, and the warmth you brought me.  I will look in the mirror at my tan lines and think of you.  And even after they fade, your memory will not be lost.  Pictures from parties and vacations we attended will fill my room.  This way, I will never be able to forget you.

Do not worry about Fall, Winter, and Spring.  I know I will be spending a lot of time with them, but I promise you, they mean nothing to me.  Yes, they will try to make me happy with their breezes of coolness.  They might even take me to beautifully snow covered locations.  And flowers will definitely be used to buy my affection.  All will fail with certainty, for you are the only one for me.

I will wait for you.  Be strong dear friend.  xoxx

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ode to Summer at From the Other Side.

meta

